Olive Garden Zuppa Toscana

This is the second Olive Garden soup that I have made.  My personal favorite is the Olive Garden Chicken Gnocchi Soup.   My coworkers were divided, some preferred the Zuppa Toscana and some the Chicken Gnocchi.  I guess  you will have to give both a try and have your own taste test.  I found several recipes online and ended up combining several recipes to get the taste I was after.  Feel free to make changes and let me know how it turns out.

Ingredients
  • 1 pound Italian sausage
  • 2 large russet baking potatoes or you can use golden petit potatoes like I used.  Cut into small bite size pieces
  • 1 large chopped onion
  • 1/2 can. Real Bacon Bits or use bacon strips that have been cooked and broken/cut into smaller  pieces 
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (I didn’t have fresh garlic on hand so I used garlic powder)
  • 2 cups chopped kale (I used spinach)
  • 2 14.5 ounce cans chicken broth
  • 1 pint (2 cups)  milk
  • 1 pint heavy whipping cream
  • 2 cups water (use more or less according to how “soupy” you want it
Instructions
Cook sausage, garlic,  and onion in skillet or saute pan until done and onions are translucent.  Add potatoes, chicken broth, and water and cook on medium heat until potatoes are done. Turn to low heat; add kale/spinach, cream, milk, and water (optional). Heat thoroughly and serve.
 Cook sausage, garlic, and onion in skillet or saute pan until done and onions are translucent.
Add bacon, chicken broth, water
and Cubed Potatoes. 
 Cook on medium heat until potatoes are done
Once the potatoes are done
Turn to low heat; add kale/spinach, cream, milk, and water (optional). Heat thoroughly and serve.
This Recipe featured at:
Nap-Time CreationsThe Frugal Girls

This Recipe shared at: 













This entry was posted in RECIPES, soups. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Olive Garden Zuppa Toscana

  1. This is my hubby's favorite soup at Olive Garden! I'm going to have to try the recipe!! I would love for you to link it up at my party going on now! Hope to see you there!

    Jill
    http://www.jillifyit.com

  2. Anonymous says:

    THANK YOU my husband asked me to find a recipe for this soup no more than 4 hours ago. You will make his day. Thanks!

  3. Yummy! My hubby would love this. Thanks for sharing at Things I've Done Thursday! http://www.bearrabbitbear.com

  4. Miz Helen says:

    I am going to love having this recipe, I always enjoy this soup! Hope you are having a great week end and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Happy St. Patrick's Day and Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  5. I love anything Olive Gardenish. Thanks so much for sharing at Must Try Monday!

  6. mmm that looks yummy, going to have to try it.

  7. I love this soup and can't wait to make this recipe! Thanks so much for sharing at Mix it up Monday! I hope you'll stop back soon 🙂

  8. Emily says:

    my husband would LOVE this! It really looks delish! thanks for linking up to tasty tuesday. YOU are being featured tomorrow at the party. Hope you can stop by and check it out! http://nap-timecreations.blogspot.com/

  9. Sharon Luke Mosher says:

    This is my favorite meal at the Olive garden. The Resturant manager gave it to me one day when I was there eating it and I didn't write it done, so thanks for posting it. I entered it in my favorite cook book already.

  10. Anonymous says:

    This soup turned out fantastic! Thank you for the recipe!!!!!

Leave a comment